London City Philharmonic: ‘The great outdoors’ concert – Sat, 5th Oct 2019

London City Philharmonic presents a bucolic evening with Mendelssohn’s ‘The Hebrides’ also known as Fingal’s Cave, depicts the mood with the opening notes which Mendelssohn wrote while visiting the cave. Meanwhile, Branka Popovic ‘Stardust’ is an energetic contemporary work which will receive its UK premiere and then moving to the Bohemian forests of Weber ‘Der Freischutz’. The concert will conclude with the warm and songful melodies of Dvorak’s ‘8th Symphony’. Join us for an evening of the Great Outdoors.

Saturday 5 October 2019, 7:30pm

St Stephen’s Church, Gloucester Road, SW7 4RL


Weber Der Freischutz Overture
Mendelssohn Hebrides Overture
Branka Popovic Stardust for Viola and String Orchestra (new commission)
Dvorak Symphony No. 8

Conductor: Olsi Qinami

Viola Soloist: Laura Vallejo